Login Register
Scroll Scroll

ClipFlair Forums. Create discussion topics and get answers

Suggest material for ClipFlair Captions - ClipFlair Project  Viewed 87034 time(s), 22 post(s), 1/31/2013 2:47:09 PM - by Lupe

Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
2/17/2013 8:51:19 PM

> George, I think the pesciolino subtitles did not import correctly in ClipFlair. Not a big problem, the missing characters can be manually
> corrected

if it is showing OK after you rename and loads/save ok, then it's not a font issue as I though from the first look (Silverlight contains its own fonts so that all content looks the same at the different platforms and also we can embed our own TrueType fonts if needed in the app)

then it must be an issue with the original file encoding, which might have been in ANSI, implying a specific encoding (ANSI files aren't self-describing, you have to guess the encoding). So, if it wasn't in Unicode form on can use Notepad on Windows to Save As "UTF-8" instead of "ANSI" which is the default, then import into ClipFlair.

With LvS app from LeViS (http://levis.cti.gr) you could select an encoding when importing subtitle files and also when exporting, so you could also use that to convert the captions encoding to UTF-8 if you know the original encoding (e.g. Latin-1 or similar [modern Greek codepage usually was ISO-8859-7 at ANSI and English was ISO-8859-1 if I remember well, but not sure for Portuguese and Spanish]). Silverlight only supports Unicode and you can't load other standard codepages or custom encodings. Might be possible to implement a converter but would increase the app's size having to include all the known codepages out there ourselves, apart from the custom coding to achieve this. So I chose to only support Unicode for the time being. As I write above easiest way is to use Notepad's "Save as" dialog and select UTF-8 output encoding from there (as long as it showed OK in Notepad)

This content has not been rated yet. 
1
Lupe
31 Reputation 2 Total posts
1/31/2013 2:47:20 PM

This srt file did not load correctly in the captions component.
George, could you pls try it?

This content has not been rated yet. 
2
George
3425 Reputation 459 Total posts
2/7/2013 9:16:36 PM

It does seem to load OK, it's just that some characters seem to be missing from the default font that ships with Silverlight (e.g. instead of the apostrophe chars used there one could use ' instead)

What language is it in?

Can you attach here screenshots of how it shows on your machine in ClipFlair Playground and how it shows in Notepad or Word?

This content has not been rated yet. 
3
Laura
1381 Reputation 88 Total posts
2/16/2013 3:49:04 PM

Hi

It seems that there is no option to add a new line of subtitles once subtitles have been done. I.e.: if I do a subtitling task and then realize that I missed a line, is it possible to insert a new line?

Thanks
Laura

This content has not been rated yet. 
4
Laura
1381 Reputation 88 Total posts
2/16/2013 4:31:38 PM

Another question. If I make subtitles editable, would the original activity be overwritten?
Thanks
Laura

This content has not been rated yet. 
5
Laura
1381 Reputation 88 Total posts
2/16/2013 4:09:30 PM

(I have no idea why my message is appearing as Spam!)

This content has not been rated yet. 
6
Stavroula
4565 Reputation 328 Total posts
2/16/2013 4:35:16 PM

Laura, the spam detection engine is too sensitive, I hope it is fixed soon.
As for your question "if I make subtitles editable, would the original activity be overwritten?"
Each activity has its own URL in the gallery (once George uploads it there)
The orignal activity can always be accessed by clicking its  URL.
Whatever changes the student does, s/he has to save them.
And then if s/he clicks again on the activity's URL, s/he sees the original activity.

This content has not been rated yet. 
7
Stavroula
4565 Reputation 328 Total posts
2/16/2013 4:36:54 PM

George, I think the pesciolino subtitles did not import correctly in ClipFlair. Not a big problem, the missing characters can be manually corrected

This content has not been rated yet. 
8
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
2/17/2013 8:26:47 PM

The spam filter we use (Defensio) seems to need some training.

BTW, I think the [SPAM] banner shown surprises the user and we need some other banner that is more explanatory (that the admin will review their post).

This content has not been rated yet. 
9
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
2/17/2013 8:28:15 PM

>It seems that there is no option to add a new line of subtitles once subtitles have been done. I.e.: if I do a subtitling task and then realize that I missed a line, is it possible to insert a new line?

When you press the 1st button at the captions component toolbar that creates a new caption, it will insert it at the correct place in the grid, based on the current time value

This content has not been rated yet. 
10
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
2/17/2013 8:37:28 PM

> Another question. If I make subtitles editable, would the original activity be overwritten?

what do you mean when you say make them editable? there's no property (yet, not sure if need to add such btw) to lock the captions column content at the Captions component. You just click once on the selected caption row (at the respective cell of the Caption column) to edit the caption content (or click twice if you want to edit another caption than the currently selected one).

Note that selection moves as time flows (when time goes at a position where there is no caption, the last caption remains selected to ease adjustment of its start/end times with the press of the set-caption-start and set-caption-end buttons at the toolbar of the Caption component [3d and 4th button from the left])

if you meant to say above "if I edit the subtitles", then if you don't save the activity onto the same file (if it was opened locally), the original will be unchanged. For activities fetched from the web, they obviously remain unchanged since we don't save-to-the-web (at least yet), we just load-from-the-web.

This content has not been rated yet. 
11
1 2 3