Login Register
Scroll Scroll

ClipFlair Forums. Create discussion topics and get answers

Feedback on ClipFlair Studio application Problems using Mac  Viewed 450360 time(s), 37 post(s), 2/17/2013 3:18:56 PM - by rovira

Stavroula
4592 Reputation 329 Total posts
10/14/2013 1:08:45 PM

I'm sure they'll let us use it! It would be a shame not to publish such nice activities :)

This content has not been rated yet. 
31
rovira
909 Reputation 80 Total posts
10/17/2013 1:57:50 PM

Dear George,
I just did what you suggested:

1. Went to http://www.omgchrome.com/user-agent-switcher-extension-for-chrome/
2. Downloaded User-Agent Switcher for Chrome
3. In the drop-down menu I selected Safari for MacOS-X
4. But when I click on the studio or gallery icons I just get a blank page. It does not look like working... :-(
Thank you for trying,
Sara Rovira-Esteva

This content has not been rated yet. 
32
George
3425 Reputation 460 Total posts
10/17/2013 3:09:19 PM

do those two buttons take you to http://studio.clipflair.net and http://gallery.clipflair.net in the addressbar of the browser? if not,  it's an issue of the home page and you could try going directly to those two urls

This content has not been rated yet. 
33
lertola
1050 Reputation 80 Total posts
10/21/2013 8:47:36 PM

Dear George,

Following my previous messages I have asked the student with Mac issues (ClipFlair crashing) to save the error and here is the screenshot.

The student also said:
I have found that when I press any of the buttons to do with playing the video on that window it crashes, but when I use other windows in clipflair for recording voice and saving then it doesn't crash.
How I got around it was to copy the video separately on to desktop and use the video this way and then I only had to press the buttons for recording audio and saving it and only 3 times out of recording 24 clips did it crash but luckily I was saving the file after every couple that I recorded.

I hope this can help.
Thanks!

Jennifer

This content has not been rated yet. 
34
George
3425 Reputation 460 Total posts
10/22/2013 8:22:05 AM

This is a crash of the Silverlight plugin itself

I suggest they try to update Firefox via its Help/About dialog (has update button there, at least the Windows version does so)

Also could look into installing updates for the MacOS-X itself or try to uninstall and reinstall the Silverlight plugin.

However if at Safari plays fine on that machine, should only try to update Firefox

This content has not been rated yet. 
35
George
3425 Reputation 460 Total posts
12/11/2014 8:12:35 PM

There is a known issue on Chrome for MacOS-X with Silvelight, where text input doesn't work. I see that Unity plugin has the same problem on Chrome for MacOS-X. Some suggestions for workarounds that users have at a related discussion thread might work with Silverlight too, but don't have MacOS-X available to try:

http://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/unity-web-player-game-using-google-chrome-will-not-allow-input

- "If you choose "always run" it will work."
- "open a separate browser tab and then go back to the original browser tab and click on the web player. You should be able to use all controls"

This content has not been rated yet. 
36
George
3425 Reputation 460 Total posts
10/24/2014 2:57:24 PM

On MacOS-X, recent versions of Safari have introduced a sandbox security model for plugins, which won't allow ClipFlair Studio to save files to the disk if you don't tell the web browser to trust it. I will try to write a blog article on it (at http://zoomicon.wordpress.com) and post the link here, since I had arranged with a friend in the past to send me some screenshots of the process that we had captured while troubleshooting the issue on his MacOS-X laptop (need to find them first in my e-mails).

easiest way to avoid this issue (not being able to save) is to install Mozilla Firefox on MacOS-X and use that instead, or install ClipFlair Studio for OOB (out-of-browser) use (by right-clicking in the studio's empty activity area and selecting to install or pressing the install link at the bottom right on the screen [appears only if Studio isn't already installed for OOB use]) and use it as a standalone application

This content has not been rated yet. 
37
1 2 3 4