Login Register
Scroll Scroll

ClipFlair Forums. Create discussion topics and get answers

Feedback on ClipFlair Studio application Problems loading activity  Viewed 260142 time(s), 21 post(s), 5/7/2013 9:22:54 PM - by lertola

Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
5/11/2013 1:47:28 AM

Hi Hennifer, both of those activities happen to use an identical (bit-by-bit) captions.srt file (attached as ZIP)



Trying to load the SRT from the import captions toolbar button of Captions component also fails



Looking into it (at first look with bare eye it doesn't look to have a problem, but I've noticed it uses Mum:... to say who's speaking - wonder if I had added some preliminary code to load the Actor column and it fails [don't remember])



speaking of how one specifies actors, what are the ways people use to specify them in captions? I think I've seen the following:



[George] test

George: test



are there others used?

This content has not been rated yet. 
11
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
5/11/2013 2:08:15 AM

I found out what the issue is with that SRT. It uses INVALID TIME FORMAT!







e.g.



1



00.00.02,000 --> 00.00.04,500



Mum:Yes,Giuseppe spends his days here doing puzzles







it should write 00:00:02,000 --> 00:00:04,500 instead.







if you see



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SubRip



it says







The SubRip file format is "perhaps the most basic of all subtitle formats."[10] SubRip (SubRip Text) files are named with the extension .srt, and contain formatted plain text. The time format used is hours:minutes:seconds,milliseconds. The decimal separator used is the comma, since the program was written in France. The line break used is often the CR+LF pair. Subtitles are numbered sequentially, starting at 1.







Subtitle number



Start time --> End time



Text of subtitle (one or more lines)



Blank line







HOW DID THEY MANAGED TO DO THIS? DID THEY OPEN UP THE .CLIPFLAIR.ZIP FILĪ•, then opened the nested .clipflair.zip for the captions component and EDITED captions.srt manually?







Cause if they had tried to write such time format in Captions component Start/End time columns they'd see popup saying "Input is not in a correct format." as in the attached screenshot



This content has not been rated yet. 
12
lertola
1050 Reputation 80 Total posts
5/14/2013 9:38:55 AM

Many thanks George.
We will ask the students if they had received the error message.
We will let you know what they say.

Regards,

Jennifer

This content has not been rated yet. 
13
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
5/20/2013 10:27:53 AM

I have now configured the social site to allow upload of .clipflair files too (saved by default like that on Mac, will set it now to also save to that by default on Windows too [instead of .clipflair.zip which will also be supported for load on Windows - Mac filedialog has issue with that one]).



Also now allowing upload of .clipflair,.mp4,.srt,.tts,.text (the .text one is the file extension for XAML text that the text editor component saves)

This content has not been rated yet. 
14
Admin
2550 Reputation 349 Total posts
5/20/2013 10:28:32 AM

btw, did you have any news on how they had managed to make those files?

This content has not been rated yet. 
15
lertola
1050 Reputation 80 Total posts
5/20/2013 10:31:46 AM

Dear George,

Cristina should meet the students next week. We will let you know what they say.
Thanks for your interest.

Jennifer

This content has not been rated yet. 
16
Agnieszka
682 Reputation 39 Total posts
6/25/2013 8:40:05 AM

Hi George,
I'm having problems with opening a clip in one Polish activity - attached. There is a link to the clip from the clips gallery, but the clip wouldn't start, though it worked previously. Do you know what the problem could be?
Thanks,
Agnieszka

This content has not been rated yet. 
17
Stavroula
4592 Reputation 329 Total posts
6/26/2013 9:19:15 AM

Agnieszka, at the back panel of the activity you should copy and paste this URL: 
http://gallery.clipflair.net/video/Zapiekanka.mp4/Zapiekanka.mp4.ism/Manifest

Now you have this one
http://studio.clipflair.net/?video=Zapiekanka.mp4/Zapiekanka.mp4.ism/Manifest

George, Agnieszka copied the URL from the browser. Could we make it so that the clip works with both URLs?

This content has not been rated yet. 
18
George
3425 Reputation 460 Total posts
6/26/2013 10:31:39 AM

Hi Agnieszka, those are the Studio launch URLs we didn't find time to see together at Carna.

the URL

http://studio.clipflair.net/?video=...

tells Studio to add a new Clip component and set the Media URL property of it to ...

... can be a full URL to a video on the web, or a partial URL to our Clip gallery like
Rosa/Rosa.ism/Manifest
or the even shorter
Rosa/Rosa.ism
or even just
Rosa

I was thinking already to make Clip component understand Studio's launch URLs and extract the correct video URL from those (reusing the same code that the Studio app itself uses), will see to it. The URL the Clip component will get from the above would be http://gallery.clipflair.net/video/Rosa/Rosa.ism/Manifest.

Similar trickery will have to do at "Open activity from URL" dialog to understand Studio launch URLs for activities, like
http://studio.clipflair.net/activity=Retro.clipflair
or just
http://studio.clipflair.net/activity=Retro
and extract the correct activity URL from those (reusing the same code that the Studio app/launcher uses), that is http://gallery.clipflair.net/activity/Retro.clipflair

When implemented it will be probably replacing automatically the Studio URL that the user typed/pasted in, not just handling it silently as is done with the various dropbox URLs (where it fixes Dropbox file download page URL that user may have used instead of Dropbox file URL - might make the Dropbox case work the same too and show the fixed URL to better educate the users)

This content has not been rated yet. 
19
Agnieszka
682 Reputation 39 Total posts
6/27/2013 3:49:53 PM

Hi Roula,
Thanks for this explanation. I'll change the link, but I have to admit I didn't understand George's answer ;)
What's the easiest way then to get the right link to the clip to insert in the activity?
A.
:)

This content has not been rated yet. 
20
1 2 3